About Shaping Dorset Council

On Wednesday 23 May 2018, legislation was passed in both Houses of Parliament to create two new councils in Dorset. One will serve the Dorset Area (currently served by East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset and Weymouth & Portland district and borough councils, as well as Dorset County Council) and the other will serve the Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Area from 1 April 2019. The current nine councils will cease to exist on 31 March 2019.

On this website you can find out more about the work taking place to create the new Dorset Council, as well as the work of the Shadow Dorset Council. The Shadow Dorset Council consists of all 174 members for the Dorset Area (drawn from the existing Dorset area councils).

The Shadow Council will ensure the safe and legal transition from the six existing councils to the new Dorset Council in April next year. Elections for the new Dorset Council will take place in May 2019.