Dorset Council electoral boundaries published


Ward boundaries for the new Dorset Council have been published by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE).

The Commission has drawn up the boundaries following an electoral review of the area currently covered by East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, Weymouth & Portland and West Dorset district councils.

The review creates new wards that will be represented by Dorset Council’s 82 councillors. The new arrangements will come into effect at the council’s first elections next year.

A review of ward boundaries for the new Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council has taken place at the same time.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Dorset’s 82 councillors should represent six three-councillor wards, eighteen two-councillor wards and twenty-eight one-councillor wards.

In response to local feedback during the public consultation, the Commission has changed some of the proposals it put forward in July.

The changes, and the full recommendations, are available on the Commission’s website at

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming weeks. The draft Order provides for the electoral arrangements to come into force at the authority’s first elections in 2019.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s